Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Therapist: …but you’re not responsible for his insecurities!

Me: I had this crazy dream that, if you love someone strong enough…

T.: …you’re gonna heal him? Or you’re gonna change him into a better person? Oh, Cari, that’s crazy indeed…

Me: Now i know…all i ever accomplished with my lousy attempt of healing him was to lower myself and to lose my own vision of life…

T.: That’s harsh! I wouldn’t call your attempt “lousy”…maybe desperate or hopeless…

“She jumped in his arms, putting her arms around his neck, kissing him passionately…happy and scared at the same time. All the way to his apartment he was quiet and she wondered what could she made so wrong…but now he was responding with the same passion and desire. She was hoping that everything will be alright.

-I missed you so much…Alessio, when i realized that you’re there, in the church…my heart started beating so fast…i imagined we’re alone and i’m singing to you…Tell me, Amore…did you liked how i sang?

-You were like an angel…and your white dress reminded me of the one you were wearing when i first saw you…

She smiled at him playing with his curled hair. He suddenly became serious.

-What i didn’t liked, Cari…was at the end, when that boy…Daniele…took your hand…by the way…all the time when he wasn’t looking at his piano, he was starring at you…

-My love…no, that was just an artistic attitude…like when two famous singers are at the same stage…they use to compliment each other with gestures or looks…like Celine Dion and…

-Come on, Cari…it’s not like you’re…

She looked down visibly ashamed…

-I’m sorry, i didn’t realized you’re gonna be bothered…

He smiled for the first time seeing her so troubled. He leaded her to the couch putting his arms around her shoulders in a very protective gesture.

-No, silly…i’m not upset with you. I was just waiting for you in the car and you were late for almost an hour…can you imagine what was in my mind…i started to imagine all kind of things…

She started to tell him all about the Moretti Family, trying to remember every detail.

-…and Luisa is so sweet and carrying and she spoke to me like a mother. Her husband, i imagine, is the kind of parent who knows how to be his child’s best friend. Oh, Alessio, for a moment…i dreamed how it would be if my parents will be more like these people…

-What about their son, Matteo Moretti? Don’t tell me! He’s the perfect big brother! Sometimes, Carissa, i don’t know what planet did you came from…

His sarcasm made her regret being so enthusiastic and she just remained quiet.

-Seriously, Cari…you didn’t knew about this family? My God…They are so rich…both having more than one business…And their home…their Castle is more accurate…i heard they had a daughter that died in her early childhood…so Matteo is their only child, a rich and spoiled guy who used to spend every night in night clubs…till they send him to Oxford…i don’t know if he returned home but lately he’s so discreet…probably preparing to be the manager of…

She didn’t wanna hear anymore. It didn’t mattered to her. All she cared was that sweet loving sound in Luisa’s voice.

-Shhhshh…Amore…i don’t care about their money or about that guy, Matteo…I just find them so friendly, inviting me to their home…

-Well, you’re not going!

-But i already accepted! They said they can help me and maybe they heard about my plans with Medical School…you know my parents aren’t supporting me and i thought…

He looked deep into her eyes.

-Cari…you know how i feel about that…You’re smart and talented, you can be anything you wanna be in your life…But baby, i need you with me. I don’t want a wife who’ll be running to some emergency in the middle of the night! I know you’re not that selfish…to make me live a lonely life while you’re saving others…when i’m the only one you should be focusing on…

The impact of his words was deep and powerful and she felt like crying.

-Heeey…don’t cry…i’m sorry baby, i love you so much…Just think about something…you’re only 17, how can you be sure that being a doctor is really what you want? Am i right?

-…yes

-You know i would encourage you in anything you want…but don’t you wanna have a family with me? A happy one, unlike both of us had…with a child who could count on his mother…with me and you loving each other…This things take time…and i don’t want an absent mother for my children.

Her emotions overwhelmed her and she started to cry in his arms.

-Alessio…you’re right, i was selfish…i never had my mother next to me…she was always busy, always in some shopping session or with her friends. I don’t wanna do this to my child or to you. Forgive me…

-Tesoro mio…there’s nothing to forgive. You’re just young and inexperienced and you got carried away…Just remember i always want the best for you and i’m a little older and wiser…”

Therapist: He surely knew the fine art of manipulation…

Me: And i was stupid enough to let him manipulate me. I was so convinced i’m doing the right thing giving up on my dream to became a doctor. I was stupid…

T.: You were like a beautiful butterfly…he wanted to keep you but, in order to do that, he needed to break your wings. I don’t think he realized…

Me: That by breaking my wings, he will destroy the butterfly inside me…

T.: No…he didn’t realized that you can fly even if your wings are broken…

