Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Dave: Is your love a holiday romance? A few series of one night stands with the same person? Followed by regrets and wishes to go back to the past and change history?

Me: It used to be that way, Dave. I used to love him during holidays, I used to have passionate nights with him…followed by the loneliness of an empty bed. Now I’ve changed.

Dave: Are you sure about that? You’re tormented by your guilty conscience, you feel you cheated…

Me: I’m only sure about one thing: He deserves more! I was so focused on myself…what I deserve, what I should have…what is he keeping me away from…And now I realize…I took away everything, even kindness or respect…or politeness. I took them away…and he deserves more…Β 

“Lying on the warm sand, listening to a far away guitar…she opened her eyes and tried to count the stars. There, up above, she could still see the sky lanterns they launched that night. She smiled.

-Do I have anything to do…anything at all…with that lovely smile of yours?

He kissed her bare shoulders, touching her neckline. She turned toward him and touched his wet hair.

-Everything…Matteo, I’m smiling because of you. I think I’m falling in love with you…

She was trembling so he covered her body with his shirt, holding her very tight in his arms.

-Carissa, this is a dream come true…I’m building my life, my dreams…around you, around us. I wanted so much to show you how it feels…to just relax and let it all flow…Tell me how it was…

-It was…like thousands fireworks at the same time…like the sea, the sky, the stars were one and I was flying…I’m still flying…can’t you feel me? That sensation is so sweet and so powerful, it’s pure euphoria…and you made it happen…You’re amazing…

-Shhhhhssssttttt…we’re both amazing. Together, my love, only together…

She cuddled in his arms admiring the diamond ring from her finger.

-Do you like it?

-Yes…Matteo, I don’t know if I’m ready for marriage…but I’m willing to do what it takes to make it work. I like everything about you: this life, your friends, your parents…I adore them. You’re giving me the family I never had. And now…now that I discovered how the fireworks feels inside…

He started to laugh, kissing her blushed cheeks and tasting the salty sea water from her lips.

-So it worth it! I have to admit…I never imagined that the best seduction strategy would be to push you in the water. To make you struggle a little, to get you all tired and wet…and a bit angry…and then…under the false pretext that your clothes are wet…

-Don’t laugh! Do you think they heard me? I hope not…

-Sweetie, Leah and Adrian are inside…no one saw, no one heard…You know, when I saw this beach house…all I could think about was you and me making love on the beach…

She ran her fingers on his chest, playing, teasing…

-Matteo…do you think we could live like this? You and me, away from the world…with our friends passing by from time to time…making love…every day…I want the fireworks, I want the butterflies…I want you to make me feel like this…Like I’m alive…

He said nothing, just held her. She felt sleepy and relaxed…for the first time relaxed with him.

-Your hands are cold…we should go inside. Don’t worry, I’ll give you my shirt and I’ll carry you in my arms…

-Matteo, I think Leah knows…she looked at me it that very special way…I heaven’t told you…but it means so much to me that you introduced me to your friends. They are great! Leah told me today that I’m like the little sister she never had! And Adrian…he’s great! I understand why you consider him your best friend. You know he fixed my necklace? I was sleeping…and when I woke up he was there…at first I didn’t knew what’s going on…I got scared and I misinterpreted. He was only trying to take off my necklace because he saw it’s…Matteo?

He looked at her very serious and she thought she said something wrong.

-Matteo…did I said something wrong?

His voice sounded harsh and cold.

-When did this happen? Carissa! When?

-Yesterday, while you were shopping and Leah was in the shower…

-Did he touched you?

She started to cry seeing him so cold. Her heart was racing and the old feeling of being lost gained control over her.

-No, not like that…He just unbuttoned my blouse because he wanted to take a look at the necklace…that’s all.

-Did he said something to you when you woke up? Carissa, tell me the truth.

She covered her face with her hands.

-But I’m telling you the truth! I am! I don’t remember…yes, he said something…I woke up and he had his hands on my skin…on my necklace, studying it. But I got scared, cause my blouse was unbuttoned and I felt embarrassed cause I was only wearing the bra…And I asked him what is he doing…But what does it matter? He didn’t meant anything wrong…

-What did he said?

-He said…

-What did he said, Carissa?

-Nothing…

He grabbed her chin with one hand, forcing her head in his direction. Taking away her hands from her face, holding them firmly.

-I asked you something! What did my best friend said to you? Carissa, don’t make me…

-No…please, Matteo…I’ll tell you, but it means nothing at all. Please don’t hurt me…He said that I’m like the finest piece of jewelry. And I got scared…he said “don’t be afraid…I’m not gonna hurt you.” I pushed away his hands and then he said he only wanted to help me with the necklace, cause the locker is broke. That was all, I swear!

He took her in his arms, caressing her hair. She was crying, asking him to forgive her.

-It’s alright, sweetie…it wasn’t your fault…I’ll take care of him in my own way…Carissa, from now on, I don’t want you to be alone with him anymore. In the house, on the beach…anywhere. Do you understand?

-Yes.

-Good. Don’t cry, sweetie…It was my mistake…you’re very naive…incredibly unprepared for the perverted world you’re stepping in. I should protect you better…”.

Dave: His best friend…

Me: A perverted world…and me, the fool who wanted to change it…

