Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Dave: So, the perfect guy, your Prince Charming…how do you see him?

Me: Someone I would spend every minute without getting bored…someone who could laugh with me but never make fun of me…someone who would protect me but, at the same time he would let me build my trust, my self esteem…

Dave (laughing): Stop, Cari…you’re describing a therapist! Oh my…I just made fun of you, I guess I’m not qualified for the job…

Me (smiling): You’re overqualified, Dave. And there’s a catch! I’m impossible. I want my freedom, my space, my secret life! Do you know any Prince Charming who could love the impossible girl?

Dave: Oh, Cari! I see him every day. You’re the one who can’t see…

“She woke up smiling. The warm blanket and the smell of fresh cleaned sheets…the white all around her…He gently touched her cheek.

-Good Morning, Sleeping Beauty! Open your pretty eyes, the Sun is up…

She stayed for another seconds with her eyes closed, enjoying the touch of his fingers on her face. His voice, the golden light surrounding  the room…

-You smiled on your sleep, Cari. I couldn’t sleep and I admired you, you were so peaceful. What have you dreamed?

-I dreamed that you…you were telling me that you’re my father. And you were happy that you found me…

She opened her eyes and the look on his face seemed a little sad.

-Angelo…have I said something wrong? I’m sorry if…

-No, not at all! I am happy that I found you even if I’m not your father. I wish a were…but I can be your friend. And now, as your friend, I’m telling you that you need to eat. Breakfast in bed for the little princess!

-No…not food…I can’t eat…

He gently touched her lips, stopping her from protesting.

-French toast…honey made from wild forest flowers…a cup of warm milk…and yes, the french butter…Now open your mouth and try the taste of Paradise.

She did it, mostly because she didn’t wanted to disappoint him. The taste of honey on toast, combined with the warm milk reminded her of childhood. And she felt a hunger like never before. For food, for tenderness, for love…

-It taste so good! Do you have more? (He smiled and prepared her another portion) Thank you, Angelo, it really is Paradise! Can I tell you a story about myself?

-Of course, Cari.

-When I was 4…this was my breakfast every morning. I never accepted anything else. My mother got mad at me because I always had honey on my dress and in my hair…and my fingers were always so sticky…so she said one morning that the honey is over. When she left, I searched in the kitchen till I found the jar. And I started to eat…till there was no honey left…

He started to laugh and cupped her face.

-Yep. You look like a kid who would do exactly like that! And you have honey in your hair again! Cari…you can have this breakfast every morning. It will never be over as long as you want it to last…

She looked down. Something in his words…she wanted to be 4 again so she could cuddle in his arms, without stepping over the line…He sensed her hesitation.

-Now…because you have eaten all the food, you’ll get something. Something to keep you warm here (he touched her shoulders, his fingers going down, caressing her arms)  and something to keep you warm in your precious heart. Yes, your jacket! You forgot it at your parents house. And for your heart…close your eyes.

She felt something fluffy in her arms and she almost burst into tears.

-My teddy bear! Mister Ted! I used to sleep with him every night! Till they took it away from me, saying I’m too old to sleep with a toy…Angelo, thank you, I’ll never forget…wait! How did you…You were at my parents home? But…why…

-Because you needed the jacket. They needed to hear a few things! Especially your mother…And Mister Ted needed you, Cari. Here it is…you’re never too old for your teddy bear…

The sound of her phone interrupted him. He told her to put it on speaker. She did it, still in shock after all she heard from him.

-Carissa! Hello, Carissa! I’m your mother, talk to me.

-Mom?

-Listen…I don’t need some stranger to come here telling me what a bad parent I am! That I’m irresponsible and selfish. And that you deserved a better family. You know I had a fight with your father because of him? Because your father, in his craziness, agreed that I’m the worst mother!

-I…I’m sorry…

-Hear me out, young lady! I understand he’s rich…have fun with him, spend his money, but leave me out of this…And, Carissa…you should be ashamed…he’s at least 40! How can you sleep with someone old enough to be your father? I send you to catholic school and you turned out to be nothing but a slut…

She started to tremble, big tears falling down her cheeks. Angelo took the phone and spoke in a cold angry voice.

-Listen carefully, Leanne! Start praying to all the saints you can imagine! Pray that Carissa could forgive you. Other wise…I will destroy you! I swear I will and you know damn well that I have the meanings! One wrong word…and your life is ruined. I don’t give a damn about you, tramp…but Carissa is very precious to me. Have you got the message?

He closed the phone and took her in his arms. She was crying, holding tight the teddy bear. He caressed her hair.

-It’s alright, sweetheart, it’s over…I’m so sorry about that…I assure you it will never happen again.

She had a hard time gathering her thoughts.

-She said…she said…that I’m…

-I know, I know…she’s stupid and mean. You wont see her again, alright? And you wont talk to her again…you have me and I’d never treat you this way…

She felt a cold shiver trough her body. His words…She lifted her eyes, looking into his eyes. Like a scared, terrified child.

-Angelo, you said you’ll destroy her life…promise me you wont. Promise me you wont hurt her or Franco…You wont do it…you said I’m precious to you…I…I can forgive…I’m used to…

-You’re used to be verbally abused. You’re used to be hurt and attacked. I promise you something: I will never do that to you. About Leanne…I wont do anything you don’t want me to do…

-Thank you.

She hugged him. A part of her was devastated because of her mother’s words. A part of her was proud because someone defended her like that. And a small part, the child in her, still hoped that he’s her father. Or, at least, a disguised  angel.”

Dave: So, true love…how do you find it? How do you recognize it?

Me: You feel it…and you can’t explain how or why…but it’s like you’re carrying a piece of Heaven in your soul…wherever you go, no matter for how long…that piece of Heaven stays with you…forever…

