Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Dave: Sometimes, living a double life means having no life at all…

Me: Dave…if you’d have a place where you’d feel loved, treasured, desired…a place where you could smile for no reason…a silly happy smile…wouldn’t you go there?

Dave: Not if going there would mean hurting my loved ones and, in the end, hurting myself.

Me: So, you would just deny to yourself…out of fear? And what’s the solution then?

Dave: Out of wisdom and common sense. Cari, the only answer is to search for that special feeling in normal, little things. I do that all the time. Like before, when you hugged me and you told me that I’m your best friend…that was my secret place, where I felt loved and treasured…

“-Will you tell me about your dream? The one that made you cry? It broke my heart to see you so hurt and devastated, Cari. And I can’t do a damn thing about it!

She looked into Angelo’s eyes, and she could see the lights from the Christmas Tree reflected in his gaze. The best Christmas Tree she ever had…filled with light, happy colors, hand made decorations…For a moment, all she ever wanted was to forget all about her dream, all about her parents and just live the moment.

-Sweetheart…You were so quiet during the dinner and I know it’s hard for you to be away from your family, especially on holidays, but if you could just open your heart…

-Angelo…is it still raining outside? I feel like going for a walk…

He took her hands. Touching her face gently, like comforting a scared child.

-You wanna run away, Carissa, and I understand you, I truly am. I saw it in your eyes…And, even if I don’t regret beating the shit out of Matteo,…I’m truly sorry that you saw…the dark side of me. I’m even more sorry that I scared you. Don’t run away, sweet child, I’m not a threat to you…and if you go away, the Christmas will be gone forever. You…the most precious little angel, you deserve the best Christmas ever. That’s why…I wanna give you something…

She carefully opened the gift box and the oval necklace shined in her palm, reflecting a beautiful golden light.

-Please open it. It has a small locker and there’s something inside.

Two pictures. Two worlds. Two images of love.

-Do you like it?

She burst into tears, hugging him tightly.

-My grandmothers! La mia nonnina and the other grandmother, the one I don’t know…Ohhhh…Angelo…how will I ever thank you for giving me…a piece of my heart…the missing piece…

He smiled, looking at her with so much love, taking her hands into his.

-You know how I always say: you’re thanking me by being happy. Only this time…I want something in return…close your eyes…

She closed her eyes, a little nervous, not knowing what it’s going to happen. Feeling his fingers trough her hair, then a gentle touch on her face, on the traces of her tears.

-Angelo…

-Ssshhhhssstttt…you will ruin the magic. Say the words…

-What words?

-The magic ones. The ones that will turn an old frog into a prince…You…little angel…you know them…I…I only know how to say…quack, quack, quack…and again quack…

The sound of his voice was so funny, that she couldn’t stopped laughing. She opened her eyes and she laughed so hard…like she haven’t done it in ages…

-Oh, princess…why are you laughing of an old frog?

-Be…be…because, Angelo! You’re making funny sounds…like you were a duck!

-Oh My Goodness! I’m not a frog? I’m a duck! That’s why I had all these inner conflicts! I’m a duck with the personality of a frog!

She wiped away her tears…this time, her laugh caused them. He smiled at her, cupping her face.

-Thank you, Carissa. Thank you, princess, for the magic.

-What magic? I didn’t even said the words!

-You didn’t had to…your smile did it for you. Look outside…there’s a rainbow. When you laughed, those ugly clouds disappeared…You created this rainbow.

She kissed him on the cheek.

-If I created the rainbow, then I wanna give it to you! Along with my love and my gratitude. I don’t know how and why you came into my life…but I know I’d be lost without you! Thank you for bringing me back the Christmas!

He cupped her face, looking deep into her eyes.

-Just a smile and the rain is gone… See how easy it was? You don’t have to believe in magic in order to feel it in your life. All you need to do is to never forget who you really are…

-Who am I? Sometimes I feel so lost, like my life is nothing but a labyrinth and I’m searching for a way out. A secret life where I could finally be myself…

-Carissa…you’re the girl with the magic words. You opened once the gates of hell and you looked into the darkness…and even there…you saw the light. So…never be afraid to shine bright.”

Dave: And you’re still creating rainbows…this time, Cari…let’s create a special one for a special heart…yours.

