Tags

, , , , , , ,

Dave: Don’t let them get to you! Imagine that you have a protective shield around your heart…

Me: A wall? You’re the one who convinced me to break down all the walls…and now…now you want me to build them again?

Dave: Is different, Cari…The walls are made of fears and anger…the protective shield is made of love…

Me: Then we have a big problem, Dave! Because without him there is no love…no shield…no life…But maybe is for the best. I’m breaking in pieces…my heart breaks every day without him…And I don’t wanna put them together, don’t wanna fix this…all I want is to lie still and forget…

“I put my head on his chest and all the pain seemed to go away forever. He was crying too even he would never admit that…foolish old pride…

-So you forgive this old fool who only wants a chance? To be your father…

I smiled at him. He changed so much while I was away…and I knew it must be hard to learn to love after a lifetime of hate…

-Of course I forgive you. You are my father! The only father I’ll ever recognize.

-How I wish to go back in time…to change everything…you and Alessio…

The name itself brought tears of pain in my eyes. Alessio…the one who was never truly there…a fantasy that destroyed my life.

-I’m sorry, Cari…I handled all wrong…I panicked when you and Alessio started dating. I didn’t knew how to react and I did what I thought is right.

The ring of his phone and I saw him smiling. Short words. A brief conversation and he turned to me with a victorious look in his eyes.

-Figlia…they located Matteo…that bastard will pay…and it will be a painful end…I wanna see him begging for life and I wanna see his parents swirling like worms…

-Stop it! Stop it right now! Cancel everything! Do you hear me, dad?

I was shouting at him and I was more surprised than he was.

-Carissa…maybe you can forgive and forget because you’re an angel. I’m not and I can’t. We can’t simply move on…and I wont allow…

-But it is my life. And is not what I came back for…

He looked at me with a mixture of shock and scare. Same look every time I was talking about my time “out” there, in heaven…But I knew I got his attention because he took my hand…and I knew I reached to his heart because I heard the tremble in his voice.

-Carissa, I know you were…in a place…but you never told me. Do you remember what you saw there? And you came back for a reason…

-Yes. I was send back for a reason. I didn’t wanted to come back. But He send me with a purpose…

Franco had a sarcastic smile.

-If He sends you to sacrifice again…He’s dead wrong.

-No. Not to sacrifice myself again. To stop the sacrifice. Useless sacrifices that only bring more pain, more bitterness, more hate. I’m not crazy, father and I’m no angel. Is hard for me, impossible right now…to forgive and forget what Matteo did. And I’m not here to be a victim. I was one. It was the only role I ever knew how to play right…

-And now…

-And now I have no chance but to become a warrior. To fight my own fears, to build something. How do I build a new life if the base is nothing but death and revenge. Dust and ruin…

-You’re asking me…

-You asked me to come back. You asked me to give you a chance. Now I’m asking you for my chance. I’m asking you something huge…to let go of your ego, your wounded pride…and to help me get out of this labyrinth.

He looked down and his sadness was  almost touchable.

-What will you do there? America is wild…and you have no one…Leanne is not reliable and chances are that you’ll take care of her, not the other way around…What will you do all alone in that jungle?

-What warriors do, dad…

-I don’t want you to be a warrior. I want you to be my little girl again! To come back home, to let me kill that bastard…to have a good life…

I hugged him and I knew it’s our way of saying goodbye.

-I will have a good life. A good family…and you’ll always be a part of it. I wont be alone, dad…love is waiting for me.

-Yeah…Prince Charming…

-Well, I don’t know his name…but I have to believe that every step I’ll make will bring me closer to love…”

Dave: Please be that warrior once again…don’t let yourself fall like that…

Me: Too late…I already fell and I keep falling…

Dave: Then…at least fall in the arms of someone who loves you. If you have to fall…fall for someone special…for someone who loved you from the day one…for someone who waited for you…a lifetime…

Me: Prince Charming? 

Dave: No. Me…just me…please fall in love with me…

